Ecosphere Associates
Ecosphere

EcoSphere Client Testimonials

I recently bought a small sphere and am enjoying it immensely. The reason I bought this is because my husband just retired from the ARMY after 22 yrs of active duty, during which time he deployed several times. He suffers from PTSD which generally gives him nightmares. When he wakes up and looks into the calm, war free, serene and quiet sphere it's very helpful and extremely therapeutic. I just wanted to thank you for making such an amazing harmonious thing of beauty. It's done wonders for him and it's my hope that once I can afford it, I'll buy the large ecosphere. Thank you again!

-Sincerely grateful, Elizabeth

We purchased an EcoSphere from you in 1996 and I am here to tell you that we still have 1 shrimp still alive and swimming! My husband has been prompted me for years to drop you a note about our now beloved Methuselah once he saw the life span of an eco sphere is 7 years. 17 years and going strong!! It has to be some kind of crazy record for a shrimp. Thank you for your wonderful product and the many, many years of enjoyment.

-Heidi

Back in high school, my boyfriend got me an Ecosphere as a birthday gift. Slowly over the years two of the three shrimp died but I still have one alive and swimming -- 20 years later!!

Twenty year old EcoSphere

-Charlotte

Just wanted to drop you a line and tell you I have been wanting to upgrade my EcoSphere for a while now but just can’t. You see I ordered my original unit 7/15/99 and it lasted 4 years, I had it recharged on 3/29/04 and the one shrimp in it has been going strong ever since. He or she will be ten years old if it makes it to March 2014. Just an amazing little shrimp I must say. A great testimonial to how well you guys have put this together.

-Rick

Just to add to your reviews. I received my EcoSphere in May 2002 as I started a new business and obtained my Masters degree. My sister presented it to me with a note, "make the world yours". So much of my life has changed, this piece has stayed timeless.

-Sharon

I absolutely love the EcoSphere! They make wonderful gifts and are a great conversation starter. I have had my system for 13 years, and has survived 3 moves and a plane ride! Unfortunately the last little guy died this year in July. I just wanted to let you know how much I have enjoyed this system. I can't wait to order my the next one!

-Britni

I have an ecosphere I bought at Sea World in San Diego, CA. I bought it around 1995. I can't remember the exact year, but I had it several years before I moved to my current address and I have lived here since 2000. I suppose it would be possible to find out when Sea World was selling them. Originally it had 3 shrimp and a snail. One of the shrimp is still alive. I contacted you a few years ago to report that 2 were alive at that time. This has got to be some kind of record. Just thought you would be interested.

-Thomas

top

Amazing. I just noticed that after almost 13 years my sphere is now lifeless. Hard to imagine something that small lives that long

-Glenn

This is to let you know how much I have enjoyed my EcoSphere. My son bought it for a Mother Day's present. Of course, my round paper-weight sized globe is spectacular. But for some reason, my little guys died and I had to avail myself of your replacement policy, which is easy to understand, on your website.   I had the supreme pleasure of interacting with Chris. He was so attentive, thoughtful, and concerned I naturally assumed he was the owner of the company.   I am predominantly vegan, yet I do not believe we are being cruel to these creatures.  They have a perfect environment, and my love. All creatures wish to avoid discomfort and to have satisfying lives. I truly believe they are doing just that in their safe little homes. Thank you for making EcoSpheres.

-Brenda

I just thought you might be interested in knowing that my 14 year old Shrimp died today. According to my brochure, my EcoSphere was purchased in June, 1999.

-Kay

Well I'm sad to report that my last shrimp has passed away... Globe 190168 is no more. I have had this for approximately 10 years. I am actually saddened that he passed away... I am sending because I didn't know if you were curious or not on how long some of these have lived for... The first 2 shrimp lasted 3-5 years, this last guy was a fighter ! I hope to be buying a new one in the future. Thank you very much for the years of entertainment and learning ! 

Ten year old EcoSphere

-Rich

I got an EcoSphere as a gift many years ago and it is still going. There were originally 3 shrimp but direct sunlight killed 2 of the 3 original shrimp. The original shrimp is still going strong though. The EcoSphere has been a great long lasting gift. I would be hard pressed to name any gift I got more than a few years ago but I remember this one!

-Scott

I got my eco-sphere as a birthday gift 13 years ago. I lost one of the 2 shrimp about 5 years ago but the other is still going strong. After some experimentation, I now keep it on a relatively shaded shelf and have not needed to clean it for years. It is my only pet and I am very happy with it. It certainly is a conversation starter when I point out the live shrimp. It’s nice to see you are still in business – you deserve it.

-David

Hi, my wife gave me a small SP 13 years ago for Christmas (before we were married) and I just lost my first shrimp and still have one that is alive!! I really enjoy it and just wanted to let you know that it is still kicking.

-Peter

Good morning! I thought you might be interested to know that our small pod has broken endurance records as far as I am concerned. I purchased the small pod on 12/11/2000 for my husband for Christmas (yes, more than 13 years ago). Although we started with three shrimp, for several years now, we have had one survivor. He has lived for 13 years that I know of -I don't know how long the pod was in store inventory at MacArthur Mall in Norfolk, Va. He has gone through 3 moves, 4 cats and several room changes. The pod has never been recharged and has maintained its seal perfectly. It has been a fun gift for a long time and I thought I would share that. We still have the original EcoSphere handbook, outer cleaning magnet, and receipt for serial number 191062 small pod.   We thought we would share this story to give you a smile and chuckle on a Monday morning. Thank you for such a fine product.

Fourteen year old EcoSphere

-Anita & Tony

top

I just thought I'd let you know I have a small sphere EcoSphere #189576 with an issue date of 12/05/00 that was received as a gift back at that point, I guess. It is still going strong- both shrimp still alive! It probably does so well because I keep it on a bookcase shelf and forget its existence most of the time. Occasionally when I dust (it's a bookcase - not often...) I peer in to see if anything is moving. Sure enough - the tiny creatures are swimming around!

-Linda

I just wanted to give you a personal testimony on an EcoSphere I purchased over 13 years ago. I bought it for my mother towards the end of November in the year 2000 as a Christmas present, and throughout the years she's given me updates, stating that "the shrimp in the EcoSphere are still alive, it's amazing that it is still going strong!" Just this morning I received an email from her at work, where she has it displayed on her desk (and people ask about it all the time). Today she exclaimed "Have I told you that there's still one little guy left alive in the ecosystem you gave me back in 2000? There really is!" and "It's one of the coolest things I own!! I think of you and that Christmas every time I look over [at the EcoSphere]." So, while the system may not be thriving any longer, there's at least one happy little shrimp to keep my mom company at her desk. I've told many people about it and how incredible it is. I will wait until the unfortunate day when the Ecosystem finally fails, and will gladly purchase another one to give to her on that following Christmas. Your product is incredible and one of the best presents I've ever gifted!

-Brice

Thought you’d like to know that I just placed an obituary on my Facebook page for my Ecosphere. It lasted 10 years, 362 days. Gonna miss those little guys!

-Heidi

Friends, my step-daughter gave me an Ecosphere many years ago -- I lost track of exactly when, but the number (serial number?) on the bottom of the sphere was 252960.  Anyway, the shrimp in the Ecosphere finally died sometime between 10 February and 23 February, 2014, just in case you keep track of such things.  I really enjoyed having it. 

-Steve

Hello! I just wanted to let you know that the small Ecosphere I received in 2000 thrived for 14 years! I received it as a gift from my parents when I was a sophomore in college, and after I graduated and moved abroad the shrimp have lived on a shelf in my parents house. When I came back to the US I didn’t want to disturb what was clearly an ideal environment for them to thrive, and my shrimp made it another 11 years. The last of the shrimp died this month. My mom was convinced he’d outlive us all! Thanks for the 14 years of enjoyment!

-Sarah

Hi.  I have an extra-large EcoSphere that I purchased in March of 2003. I just wanted to let you know that the five surviving shrimp continue to thrive after all these years, and my patients find it humorous that these little guys are older than my daughter, who is in fourth grade and writing poetry.

-David

My name is Mitchell and I just wanted to let you know how impressed I am with your product. I first received my small Ecosphere (Serial #191959) as a Christmas gift in 1995 and it has been going strong ever since! It's amazing to think that this little shrimp who continues to swim around in his sphere is over 18 years old as of 2014 and has survived multiple moves and transits throughout his life. As it says in the handbook, these shrimp really are analogous of the resilience of humanity. Thank you once again for having developed this incredible enclosed glass world!  

-Mitchell

top

I thought you might be interested to know that one of the shrimp in my 12-21-2000 small EcoSphere (serial number 187693) is still alive. I haven't cleaned the sphere in at least ten years, but he doesn't seem to mind.

EcoSphere handbook from December 21, 2000

-Brian

I purchased my eco-sphere 8/22/05. I would like to report that I still have one shrimp remaining. My sphere was an impulse purchase while shopping at Sharper Image. The sphere lived on my desk at work for a couple of years and has lived on my desk at home ever since. I’m sad to say that the other inhabitants eventually started disappearing a year or so ago. But the last little trooper lives on. I love my sphere and just wanted to let you know. 

-Esther

Hey guys, I just wanted to let you know my EcoSphere is still alive! It will be 20 years old in December. Can you believe it!! I love it! I'm pretty sure I actually e-mailed you guys years ago, when I found out it was 12 years old. Imagine what I thought when I was going through my "warranty" file, looking for something else and came upon my little handbook. Poor thing is getting yellow with age. (HaHa). To think it is 20!!

-Michelle

My son sent me this as a present about 13 years ago. I worked in an office at the time and he thought would be good on my desk. I had it there for awhile and dropped a staple remover on it and cracked the top so I taped it up. Here it is many years later and I am enclosing pictures cause there are still 2 left. This is not a joke.

Thirteen year old EcoSphere

-Name Withheld

I just wanted to contribute to your client testimonials. I received a small Ecosphere from my parents for Christmas in 2000. It was my first year in college, and my three little shrimp were a welcome addition to my tiny dorm room! The sphere moved along with me, from dorms to apartments to houses, a total of 12 moves, through getting married, becoming a veterinarian, and having my first child! I came upon the sphere the other day while attempting to make more space for the baby's ever–expanding arsenal of toys, and at first glance was saddened to note my one last shrimp appeared to be gone. Happily, he awoke and began swimming around just to let me know, through all the years of change (and let's face it, forgetting completely about it), he was still around! That little shrimp has been with me for 12.5 years and is still kicking! Thank you for such an amazing little object of wonder!

-Valerie

Just wanted to let you know that after about 18 years my EcoSphere Shrimp died. It was like having a friend pass away. Great product.

-Scott D.

I just wanted to let you know that I bought one of your ~5 1/2" high oval eco spheres with 3 shrimp for my office sometime around 2001 or 2002 – not sure anymore. One shrimp died within 2 years, the second within 4–5 years. The third shrimp is still swimming around in the eco sphere – he/she is at least 11 years old. I didn't realize that they would live that long. Almost as long as most of my cats!

-John H.

I was just looking at your website and wanted to let you know that I have had my ecosphere for over 13 years! I truly enjoy watching my little guy and have created quite a buzz whenever someone new sees him on my desk. Thank you for making these incredible ecosystems available to the public.

-Laura H.

top

On my desk is an EcoSphere. I received it as a Christmas present from my daughters on 12/25/2003. The two shrimp were named Scooter 1 and Scooter 2. Scooter 1 seemingly disappeared between 7/16/2008 and 7/17/2008, having survived for at least 4 years. Scooter 2 remains active and seemingly healthy. I am amazed that such a small and delicate creature could last inside the EcoSphere for over 9 years.

-Carl R.

My mother gave me my first (large pod #225025) EcoSphere back in October 2001…..which makes my last surviving Shrimpie almost 11 ˝ years old. I keep him on my desk at work and he is the envy of many. He’s even survived being mistaken for a snow globe! I had planned on recharging the pod “when the time came”, so was super surprised when Mom bought me the large sphere this past Christmas. Shrimpie has friends again (albeit “next door”), and I now have two beautiful EcoSphere displays… that I hope to enjoy for another 12+ years! Long live Shrimpie!

-Sharlene R.

I just wanted to tell you how incredibly happy I am with my Ecosphere. I have 9 lively shrimp in my medium sphere and they are fun to watch as they go about their day. I find their presence on my desk very soothing – especially at the end of the day. At various times of the day, I will take a few moments to see what they're up to and count them to make sure that I haven't lost any. I've already had two moltings (I received this in December) and a couple of the shrimps have gotten bigger. The low light in the building seems to be fine for them.

-Deborah G.

I just wanted to tell you how incredibly happy I am with my Ecosphere. I have 9 lively shrimp in my medium sphere and they are fun to watch as they go about their day. I find their presence on my desk very soothing – especially at the end of the day. At various times of the day, I will take a few moments to see what they're up to and count them to make sure that I haven't lost any. I've already had two moltings (I received this in December) and a couple of the shrimps have gotten bigger. The low light in the building seems to be fine for them.

-Emma

top

To me, "amazing" is a word which is criminally overused these days. A dog playing the saxophone, underwater, would be something I'd consider to be "amazing". A restaurant or a new TV series, not so much. Anyway, about 10 years ago (possibly 11–12) , I gave my mother an Eco–Sphere. It's small –– about the size of a softball. I still have it. Mom lost the magnet–cleaner immediately, so it's never been cleaned. GET THIS: the shrimp just moulted. Through my magnifying glass, I see its clear–colorless shed carapace hanging from the coral twig. The newly emerged crustacean is lively, seeming to go from transparent to lobster–red depending upon....???? There is a lush plume of green algae fluffing around one finger of the coral, but the water is clear. I have moved this Eco–Sphere from San Diego to Los Angeles to rural northern California, then back to LA over the course of the past several years. My mother has been deceased for several years now, and since this sphere was my gift to her a few years prior, my time–frame is accurate. AMAZING!! Thanks for giving me a sense of wonder in this jaded world.

-Victoria T.

I live in the county of Northumberland in the UK I bought an ECCOSPHERE in Los Angeles in December 2000 and brought it back to the UK for your interest one of the three shrimps is still alive and well as I write.

-Michael H.

I would like to inform you that my daughter purchased a 3.75" EcoSphere Serial No. 38465 with issue date of 11.06.96. I report that of this morning all three (3) shrimp are still alive and active. Thanks for a fascinating object of interest.

-Ralph B.

I have an eco–sphere that I received as a birthday gift years ago. It's issue date was 5–23–2002. It has 2 shrimp left and they are happy (as much as shrimp can be happy, I guess), healthy & still going strong. I thought you might want to know what an amazing product you have. Here's to 10 more years !!!

-Whitney S.

top

I just have to say… I have had my EcoSphere for YEARS now! I have clients that stop in, and can't believe it's still alive. Seriously, I've had this thing for so long I can't even remember when I got it! The number on the bottom is 225713. The shrimp are named Oscar and Matilda. Anyway…I was looking at it today, and just wanted to send an email to express my pleasure with my cute little ecosphere!

-Melissa B.

I just wanted to let you know that I am in love with my small EcoSphere. The ONLY thing I would change, now that I’ve had it for a few weeks, is the style I ordered. I would not get the small sphere again. I keep it on my desk at work and I’ve had to adhere a sign to the base saying, “This is NOT a snow globe! Please do not shake.” I’ve had to save my shrimp’s lives several times. Happily, most everyone in the office now knows about my sphere so I’m able to breathe a little easier. Regardless, I am endlessly fascinated by my sphere. I love watching my little shrimp swim around, and they look so cute when they are eating. Coolest gift I’ve ever given myself!

-Leilani T.

Years ago I purchased two EcoSpheres and each one lasted a few years. I purchased my present eco–sphere at a reptile auction in Hamburg, Pa. I carefully marked down the date I purchased it on the enclosed information, which my wife discarded about two years ago. Very disappointing. I knew it was long–lived but since I no longer had the date, I thought I'd have to be satisfied with guessing it's age. Then just the other day, I turned it over, noticed, for the first time, it's serial number and immediately figured one of the great mysteries of my life was about to be solved. The rapid response to my eco–sphere inquiry revealed that it was created in October 2005. I learned that there are a few that are much older. I don't know the life span of the shrimp they use, but mine are spry and healthy as if they were on their first date. I hope I'll do as well in my nonage. Now I'm wondering whether I need to put it in my Will...

-John D.

Just wanted to share my eco life story. I have had my eco–sphere since December 2000. I still have 3 very active shrimp – Bubba and Jenny! Thank you for this amazing creation!

-Vicki O.

top

I am a biology teacher and I bought a small sphere in June 2006 with 3 shrimp. Today my sphere is still thriving with 2 shrimp. I use it every year to introduce photosynthesis. My kids LOVE my EcoSphere.

-Jennifer L.

I started practicing law in 2004 and purchased an Ecosphere as a gift to myself. Now in 2012, and I still have my shrimp prominently displayed on my desk. The two original shrimp are still very active. They have provided me a talking point, enjoyment, and pets at work. These two tough guys have even survived a few unfortunate shakes from when visitors thought they were a snow globe. I just thought I would pass on my amazement in your product. All the best.

-Jonathan L.

I bought my EcoSphere at the Denver airport during a business trip many years ago... It was around 2000–2002. To be honest I am not completely sure (it was so long ago that I am still amazed). Both shrimps are still alive and doing great, but the algae is now white. It has being this way for more than 4 years.

-Jose

My ecosphere is 12 years old and still alive. It is awesome

-KD

top

I have had my 5 1/4" EcoSphere for over 11.5 years, on my desk in my office, under office lighting, and it still has 2 shrimp remaining. I have been waiting to send in for an upgrade to the large or extra large sphere for about 5 years, but these 2 just keep on going. On the back of the "Handbook" is a serial number of 175680 and the Issue Date says 6/8/00.

-Dan D.

I just wanted to let you know that I have had my Small Pod EcoSphere for 11 1/2 years now. I received it as a birthday present in June, 2000. It started out having 4 shrimp and I currently have 2 still living. Just amazing that it has lasted this long. I don't even do anything with it. I've never cleaned it but it just keeps sustaining life. The shrimp are always interesting to watch too! Just thought I'd share with you how long mine has lasted and I still enjoy looking at it!

-Brian

I have a small sphere serial #266271 and the last shrimp died in October 2011. The ecosphere was a gift and I cannot remember when it was given to me. I think that it was around 2001 or 2002. Thank you so much for a wonderful product.

-Sara P.

I have an invoice dated 12/20/04 for a medium sphere that was a gift to me from my husband for that christmas. There are three shrimp in it.

-Sandra A.

top

I just wanted to share with you that my sister purchased the Small Pod 5.25" ecosphere serial number 54794 back in October 2997, so that was about 15 1/2 years ago, and she had it sent to our family and we still have one shrimp that is alive. I find that rather amazing and we have watched this ecosphere onver all these years and still watch with interest that this one little shrimp is still alive. Our children were not real young at the time, our youngest was 17 when this was shipped to us but our family has watched this pod with interest over the years. It pretty much stays in the same spot on a shelf and in fact we will go for a long time and just about forget it and then we will look in and sure enough that one little shrimp in still alive. I just found the EcoSphere Handbook the other day and checked the pod once again and the shrimp is still alive and the handbook says it was issued October 1997 and I was just amazed that we have had it that long and one is still alive. I just wanted to drop you a note and let you know how long we have had ours and it still working!!

-Nancy

Two of my shrimp have been living since 2002! They are almost 9 years old and still doing great. The people at ecosphere know what they are doing.

- Matthew

I have only had my Eco-Sphere for about a week. You will definitely be very pleased with any of these miracles. While I only have the little one, for myself, when the time comes to re-charge this sphere, I am most positively getting the largest one they have to offer. I love this Eco-Sphere so much that I just bought a medium sized sphere for my parents 65th Wedding Anniverary. The little shrimp are adorable. They require no special attention, no feeeding and are a joy to watch. Very peaceful. The packing is unbelievablely over-the-top. The Customer Service employees are very polite, exceptionally helpful, very knowledgeable and caring. Delivery is unbelievably super fast with an actual delivery date that is YOUR choice. Need I say more? No I am not being paid to write this review! Buy one for yourself, but if you can, buy as large of one that you can. You will not be disappointed.

- Brucetta

I work in an office with an eco-sphere and I LOVE it. I asked about it one day, to learn that it was given as a gift in the mid-80s. After doing some research, I find it amazing that there are still 5 active, bright red little shrimp in there! I look forward to being able to afford one of these little worlds for myself one day!

Thanks.

- Elizabeth

I just want to let you know we purchased a small pod in 12/2002 and we still have one shrimp, looking healthy as ever. Thank you so much for the education and the pleasure you have provided us and our friends.

- Maria

top

I was just wondering if you keep up with any customers to see how long their ecosphere has lasted. I lost the booklet that came with mine years ago when I moved. I recieved my ecosphere as a Christmas present from a friend back in 2000 or 2001; I'm pretty sure it was 01'.

- Linda

Hello-I have an ecosphere medium size that I got in Dec 2005. It has three shrimp that are still going strong 4 plus years later! These are sooo cool!!!

- Gary

I just wanted to share with you that my Ecosphere was purchased for me by my wife shortly after starting up my business. We just celebrated our 10 year anniversary and although I started with four shrimp I am now down to one and it is swimming around just as much as when I got it.

- Mike

Thought you would like to know. I had the "Small Pod - Serial # 176130 - since June 2000" The last little shrimp died in November 2009! He was so playful! Would chase after the little cleaning magnet and liked to "go for a ride in the car"!!!

Thank you for such a cute idea!

- Lynn

top

Hi I am on my 2nd ecosphere and I think I'm going to break the record. My first one lasted over 4 years. I ordered a new one almost SEVEN years ago and it is still doing just fine.

Thank you- I enjoy it so much.

- Donna

THANK YOU! The large eco-sphere arrived safety the other day and all is well! They were swimming around even as I opened up the box. They have settled into their new home and I love that base. Did not know the base circled around for total viewing.

- Kerry

I just received my new EcoSphere and LOVE IT! Thanks so much! Totally AWESOME. Super customer service, prompt response and shipping. Could not be happier.

- Michel

I have had this one sphere for over 15 years and there are three shrimp still swimming every day.

- Rich

top

I have ecosphere #31808 and our last shrimp died December 2009. Not sure of the exact day, but he was alive during Thanksgiving. My guess is that he was about 15 yrs old. I cant tell you how cool he was, we would always show him off and tell people how old he was and they never believed us that one little shrimp could live that long. The pod is still sitting on the shelf in the kitchen where it has been for years and years. Could you tell me exactly how old my shrimp was by the serial# on the bottom?

Thank you,

- Renee

Hi, I have had one of youre eco-spheres for quite a few years. 2 of the shrimp are still alive and well! What an amazing little world.

- Debora

My name is John Johnson. Nearly 14 years ago, I received an Ecosphere as a gift that still amazes me. I have one shrimp whom I have named Solo. He energetically swims about his world. I love him and cannot believe he still exists.

- John

I bought the Ecosphere in April, 2001, in Washington state and drove it to New Mexico. I don't remember if it was model SP or LP. The serial number on the bottom is 219677. The last shrimp died in January, 2010.

- Sharon

top

I purchased a medium sphere with shrimp for my husband for Christmas in '02. The documentation we have says that it was charged in August of '02. We wanted to let you know that it has survived three moves, and is still going strong on his desk at work. We're going for breaking a record!!

- Franciene

My son, along with my mother's other grand children, received Ecosphere Small Pods for Christmas a number of years ago. Some how, the sphere found a home on my desk at home and sat there. We had long thought the shrimp were gone. Well, much to our surprise and enjoyment, my son was looking at it more closely today and announced a shrimp was swimming around. I said, "No way." But sure enough, there he (or she) was. We were both blown away.

- George

Just was moving some boxes around and found the box for my Ecosphere and noted the ship date of "Deliver by 07 Feb 2002" and want to let you know that 2 of my shrimp are still cruising around their globe. I don't know what the record is, but these guys are still going strong!

- Kathy

I just wanted to drop you a note and say thank you for a great product. My girlfriend bought me 4 shrimp eco-sphere for Christmas in 2000. It has been sitting on my desk ever since then. I have a stocking hat that I cover it with every night before I leave work and take it off first thing in the morning. The last 6 years it has been a 2 shrimp sphere. Sadly, "Jumbo" and "Popcorn" have just passed away after 9 years and 4 months. Not too bad of a Christmas gift longevity. Thanks for the conversations this sphere has created!

- Scott

top

FYI – I have s/n 122255 (oval) that I received as a gift in Dec 1999. It originally contained three shrimp and almost 11 yrs later I still have one shrimp alive! I had no idea that they could live this long.

- Greg

This isn't a complaint or anything, but how long are these shrimp supposed to last? I bought one for my daughter when she started Middle School. She's finishing her sophomore year at Harvard and the shrimp is still alive.

- Wiliam

I currently have an EcoSphere which I "inherited" while working at a previous company. I believe it was a gift to the company at one time. I still work with some of the same people and we were wondering just how old the EcoSphere is. It still has one remaining shrimp which appears to be doing quite well.

- Glenn

My last shrimp perished in my EcoSphere. My brother gave it to me as a gift in '94 or '95. A 15 year lifespan is amazing.

- Patrick

top

bought my sphere in July, 1999 in NYC. My "zippy" is still alive and we live in Miami!

- Daryl

Just wanted to let you know that I bought an ecosphere for my parents in November 2000 and there are still 2 shrimp living happily!!

- Lisa

I just wanted to tell you folks, that 13 years ago I bought an ecosphere for my wife. You should know, that there is still life swimming around in that little world. I know that these things last awhile, but I think that 13 years is pretty incredible. Just thought you should know.

- Leon

I don't really have an inquiry, but just wanted to let you know I have an ecosphere that is now 9 years old !! Two shrimp are still alive and seem to be doing well. They were purchased back in February 2001 so actually almost 10 yrs old !! So as you can see they have been my favorite accessory for quite some time- - They somehow have seemed to survive several moves, and living arrangements. I regret the day they no longer exist since they have been with me sooooo long. People kid me about my "jar of water", but to me I know it is much more - - Its my little "treasure"

- Candle

It’s with much sadness that we announce the death of “Mr. Shrimpy.” Mr. Shrimpy has been with us since 1990 and has always had a place of honor in our home. An amazing little creature, he’s moved with us three times and always kept on swimming! Mr. Shrimpy was originally a gift to my husband, who kept him on his desk for years. When my husband started working from home, Mr. S. came home and has lived here ever since.

Thank you for all the wonderful years!

Best regards,

- Harriet F.

top

Just wanted to update you on the Ecosphere I received from my sister as a Christmas gift in 2001. Over the last 8 years, 3 of the 4 shrimp have finally died, but their remains have disappeared, I suppose due to the action of the bacteria, helping add nutrients to the system. The one remaining shrimp keeps flitting around the SP (I think) model. I'm a college geology, earth science, and oceanography professor, and as well as being beautiful and personally fascinating, this is a useful tool to teach the students about the atmosphere, humidity, the hydrologic cycle, and the biosphere.

Thanks!

- Greg M., PhD

P.S. I received this a couple of months after 9/11, and hand carried it through the airport on the way home. The security personell weren’t happy about it, but the presence of living organisms within convinced them it wasn’t a dangerous device!

Howdy Folks, I’m sitting at my desk and marveling for the umpteenth time at how my Eco-Sphere is still in business. My Mom gave it to me for Christmas 2003. I’ve had it on my desk ever since. The current generation of shrimp will occasionally follow my finger when slowly moved around the outside of the ball.

I’ve given sphere’s as gifts to friends and none has lasted as long as mine. For what it’s worth I rotate the ball about ¼ turn once every week. Then slowly turn it over 360 degrees once a month. It’s not in direct sunlight.

Thanks for creating a product which brings me back to reality each day between the memos, e-mails and reports.

Peace be with you and yours.

- Scott K.

When I couldn’t afford to buy my future wife the whole world I bought her an EcoSphere® in Studio City, CA. That was 12 years ago.

A few months ago we moved from Los Angeles to Texas. We originally relocated to Galveston, Texas, however, Hurricane Ike forced an emergency evacuation. We could only take essentials out of the house before evacuating... our Eco-Sphere was not one of those items. We left it at the beach house to weather the storm. After the hurricane blew through Galveston we were finally allowed to return to the beach house to see what damage had been done. Even though the damage was light in comparison to many other homes in the area we were not allow to return to the house because of utility outages. We once again were forced to leave our fragile Eco-Sphere with its shrimp inhabitant alone to survive by itself. After 3 months we were finally able to go back to the beach house. It had been boarded up with no light or electricity since the hurricane. One of the first things we looked for when we got there was the Eco-Sphere. We are are happy to report that our 12+ year old shrimp survived all of the drama. Not only did he survive, he was bigger and a much more vibrant color... almost as if he enjoyed it all. The shrimp, now named Ike, is living comfortably with us in our new home in Austin.

Thank you!

- Kirk C.

top

I wonder if I was as protective of my children, as I am with my new babies. I am convinced they hear and recognize my voice (oh god, i am losing it)

I LOVE these! Thank you SO much. They look great on the desk. People are fascinated with them when they come in here. Good stress reducers. They got warmer since I opened 'em and they're swimming all around like little submarines - they have more personality than some people I work with! Coolest desk accessory ever. I will be bringing them home on the weekends to ensure their care, and keeping them by me at work.

Thank you!

- Jules

“I have an Ecosphere I wanted to tell you about. My husband bought it for me 8-9 years ago, and one little shrimp still remains…just thought you would like to know. It is truly amazing!”

- Laura W.

“I got one of your original spheres about 10 years ago, and it’s been on my desk since that time as a testament to the tenacity of life.”

- Marshal W.

“I bought an ecosphere about 5 years ago and it is still going strong!”

- Marie

top

“I just wanted to tell you that my EcoSphere (“ISP” size) is alive and well even after 6 years. I received it as a birthday gift, and I think aside from one of the three shrimps dying, it's still doing well. I'm a high school biology teacher now, and my students (especially younger ones) love it. I'll be showing it in class tomorrow as a demonstration of an ecosystem. Thanks for a great product.”

-Yoojin C. Ph.D

“Thank you so much for your reply to my email. It warms my heart to know that my EcoSphere and serial number will be added to your hall of fame. I shall always treasure those ten plus years of carefree entertainment. "Methuselah" was my kind of "pet". No feeding, no litter tray to clean, no vet bills, no staining the carpet and upholstery, no pet sitters to hire when I traveled. Every day he was there to entertain me with absolutely no overhead. May he now rest in peace.”

-Joel B.

“We bought our small pod Eco-Sphere about 8+ years ago and would like to let you know that there is still one shrimp still alive! I thought I would take the time to let you know that I believe that this is one of the most amazing gifts I have ever received. I never would have thought that the shrimp would have lived this long. Thank you for creating these wonderful living pieces of art!”

-Kevin D.

“I just thought that you’d like to know that we have a small sphere with one shrimp still alive after almost 10 years. It is s/n 97129 with issue date 12/98. Amazing indeed!”

-Doug S.

top

“I just wanted to let you know that my sphere arrived this morning as anticipated, and though one little critter was sluggish at first, they all seem to be moving about now. Cheers, and again, I thank you very much for all considerations and recharging my sphere.”

-Betsy

“I love this idea. I received a pod as a gift and am completely fascinated with it.”

-Barbara

“I received the 5" Eco-sphere from a friend back in 1992. 16 year later, the last surviving shrimp died of unknown causes. Still in mourning, we can't help but be amazed at how low he was with us.... assuming he was a he. Thanks for years of calming entertainment!”

-Frank J.

“I can’t tell you how excited we are to have our EcoSphere! It is amazing! I really think this is the coolest thing! Thanks again for coming through for us. It was so refreshing to have such great customer service! It is definitely a rarity these days!”

-Jessica S.

top

“My students really enjoy the Eco-Sphere, and it really works well in describing a closed system.””

-Stephen H.

“Hello. Happy 2008...and I thought you would like to know that ecosphere #39780, created in June 1995, is still doing okay. All the shrimp are still alive.”

-Cynthia D.

“What a cool and educational product.”

-Jon I.

“My son gave me an eco-sphere for my 60th birthday and it is wonderful. The first night I woke up numerous times to go to the sphere and check to see if it was ok and if the little creatures seemed warm enough. Thank you so much for such a fantastic item!!!”

-Theron T.

top

“Just wanted to say thank you for the education. We have had an EcoSphere for 7 years. These little guys seem to be doing great.”

-Berry B.

“I just wanted to take a moment to thank your company for the great joy it has provided me with my ecosphere. I've had it since the Holidays of 2000, and though I lost one shrimp, the remaining three shrimp are doing great. It is a great stress reliever to gaze into the sphere when you need to unwind for a moment. Thanks for all the joy it's provided.”

-Shaun

“I wanted to tell y'all that my eco-sphere is still going strong with one shrimp. It was purchased in 98 or 99 serial number 206176. I am amazed that he is still alive because I don't do anything to my ecosphere. I sometimes clean it but not very often. Thanks for making such a neat pet.”

-Heather W.

“I have had My ecosphere for many years. In fact I am not sure just how long. I am middle school science teacher in Virginia just 15 miles from NASA. The ecosphere is an excellent way for me to show my students how the Earth is a closed system.”

-Littrell M.

top

“I was going thru some stuff and found the original booklet for the small pod EcoSphere purchased in November of 1997. It talked about how long the shrimp might live. After almost 10 years, I wanted to let you know that my pod still has 2 living shrimp.”

-Ed G.

“I am glad to report that the Ecosphere that was a present to me in May 1999 is still in good shape and there are three shrimp surviving. It has given me a great deal of quiet pleasure and a degree of wonder as befits an aging bacteriologist. Thanks for the mysterious and elegant biological consortium.”

-Robert M.

“Just a quick note, in case your interested. I received a small (3 3/4") EcoSphere as a Christmas present in December or 2000. The serial number was 185950. For your records, the first shrimp died in January of 2007, the second in March, and the last shrimp died today.

I have enjoyed the experience of having it my office.”

-Jim W.

“I received a small EcoSphere three or four years ago from my brother in law and it is still going strong! I work for a conservation organization and find the Ecosphere to be a constant source of inspiration. The parallels between the EcoSphere and Earth's ecosystem are remarkable and a great reminder to take care of ourselves.”

-John R.

top

“I just wanted to let you know my ecosphere is just over 7 years old! It sat on my desk for a few years, with artificial light, and now sits on a book shelf in my home office. It's amazing!

Thanks for my little piece of the sea!”

-Leyla

“Just a note to tell you that today is Sammy's Fifth ( 5th ) Year Anniversary with our household. I got Sammy as a gift on February 14th 2002 and he has been a very welcome part of the family ever since. Rain or shine Sammy is always there and gives us a true sense of wonder each time we see him living in his little world.

What an amazing experience this has been. Although Sammy is in a separate universe he is an important part of our universe. I marvel at the ecosystem you've created.”

-Michael K.

“I thought you might like to see pics of my Eco-Sphere that I purchased at the ACE Westlake Hardware on Saddle Creek Road in Omaha in October of 2001. Yes, I have a dog and a cat, but these four little shrimp provide great therapy and are a great conversation piece. Thanks for creating such a unique treasure!”

-Helen J.

“I purchased a model ISP (small pod) Ecosphere as a gift for my husband in November, 1995, from Signals catalog company. I don't know if this is some type of record, but we're proud of our independent guy and hope he/she keeps going for at least another five or so years.”

A satisfied and amazed customer,

-Jennie P.

top

“I have a pod that was purchased 8 years ago right before Christmas. There are still 2 Shrimp living. I leave it alone sitting on the kitchen counter in fairly dim light. It survived Hurricane Katrina and was found in my destroyed home floating on its side...
Excellent Design!!!
Super Product!!!”

-Danny L.

“Just though I'd add yet another testimonial to the durability of (eco) life. I have a small spherical ecosphere that my wife ordered for me from the Signals catalogue as a Christmas gift in December of 1996. After almost 13 years, I still have the ecosphere on my desk at work and one hardy shrimp still keeps watch over my workspace diligently to this day.

Thanks for making such a wonderful product.”

-Steve F.

“Just wanted to update you on the Ecosphere I received from my sister as a Christmas gift in 2001. Over the last 8 years, 3 of the 4 shrimp have finally died, but their remains have disappeared, I suppose due to the action of the bacteria, helping add nutrients to the system. The one remaining shrimp keeps flitting around the SP (I think) model. I'm a college geology, earth science, and oceanography professor, and as well as being beautiful and personally fascinating, this is a useful tool to teach the students about the atmosphere, humidity, the hydrologic cycle, and the biosphere.”

-Greg M.

“Nearly 14 years ago, I received an Ecosphere as a gift that still amazes me. I have one shrimp whom I have named Solo. He energetically swims about his world. I love him and cannot believe he still exists.”

-John J.

top

“I just wanted to thank you for the attention to detail with your shipping processes. We received our small Ecosphere yesterday and to our delight all 4 of our shrimpy friends are healthy and active! The box was expertly packed and padded and our sphere came in perfect condition.”

-John B.

“I have a ecosphere that we belive was given to us christmas 1996.It still has 2 shrimp alive.”

-Randal S.

“I just received my new EcoSphere and LOVE IT! Thanks so much! Totally AWESOME. Super customer service, prompt response and shipping. Could not be happier.”

-Mitchel G.

“Thought you would like to know. I had the Small Pod since June 2000. The last little shrimp died in November 2009! He was so playful! Thank you for such a cute idea!”

-Lynn

top

“I have an ecosphere medium size that I got in Dec 2005. It has three shrimp that are still going strong 4 plus years later! These are sooo cool!!!”

-Gary E.

“Just letting you know that I received the Eco-Sphere in great condition this past Thursday a.m. Everything is fine...all three of the shrimp are moving around actively. I will save the box just in case I'd want a recharge or something much later on. Again, thanks for getting the Eco-Sphere to me in sound condition.”

-Daniel K.

“Just wanted to let you guys know that I've had my ecosphere since 1996 and two of my shrimp are still living. Thanks.”

-Kelly F.

“We just discovered that Ecosphere #124119 purchased in 11/99 is still alive! It was a 3 3/4" sphere…a most exciting discovery.”

- A satisfied customer

top

“I received my eco-sphere around 4 years ago as a Christmas present from my sister in law. The biggest one and the littlest one survived until today. My son knocked it off the table. I have to admit, I'm upset- I'm literally crying! I never thought I could become attached to two little creatures I've never had the chance to hold. Your product is awesome and I plan to get another one in the near future!”

- Veronica B.

“You are not going to believe this, but my little shrimp is still going strong after 10 years and a move from NYC to NJ!”

- Lisa G.

“I received an eco-sphere that was issued in August 2002. It contained three live shrimp. One died in 2003, but the other two lasted until January and February 2008. The later two had a lifetime in my home of ~5.4 years. Amazing!”

- Jerome O.

“Just wanted to let you that my ecosphere 253203 is still functioning with two shrimp busily swimming about. I am not sure when I was given it, but might well have been in 2000 or earlier. I am glad to see that you are still making these wonderful things.”

- Kathy R.

top

“While home for the holidays visiting my mother in Sierra Vista, she brought out her eco-sphere my brothers and I gave her for Christmas back in 1996. It's been 11 years and I had no idea she still had it or that it was even alive but it is! She is so proud of it! She absolutely loves it and says it's the best gift she's ever received. So, I wanted to say a BIG Thank you for making these spectacular little eco-spheres. They're really an awesome creation.”

- Heather H.

“For your information my shrimp in ecosphere 65792 finally expired. I have watched them since July 1998!

- Bill

“I have had my ecosphere for 8 years now last month and the thing is still going strong. It’s a small pod.

- Dave

“I just wanted to write to commend you on your wonderful product. I purchased my 4" eco-sphere in October of 1998 (its serial number is 116529). It originally held 4 shrimp. It has been sitting on my desk now for over 9 years. It has been shook (mistaken for a water-globe) on more than one occasion and I still have 2 surviving shrimp. The water level has diminished slightly, but it is still a wonderful conversation piece.

- Cindy M.

top

“I have enjoyed my little "water world" for almost four years! It may sound strange, but I couldn't wait to check on them every morning. I would panic when there were clinging to a branch and couldn't be seen. Your eco spheres are so wonderful” -Kathleen S.

“I bought a small pod ecosphere (Serial # 42493) for my husband almost 11 years ago (December, 1996) and it has been healthy and active. He has kept it on his desk in his office all this time and has enjoyed his tiny window into the sea world on a daily basis. He is a diver so he particularly appreciates his tiny aquarium. I have to tell you the Ecosphere is one of the best presents I have ever given my husband and I have also given them as gifts to others.”

- Anita W.

“I was given an Ecosphere in December of 1996 (serial number: 43552). It is a small pod model. I just wanted to share with you that my shrimp, a lone survivor of a cross country trip in July 1997, is still alive and kicking. It is now almost 11 years old.”

- Jennifer K.

I am the proud owner of a 6.5" EcoSphere serial number 51357 dated 5/97. There are 2 shrimp still living, which makes them at least 10 years old. A 3rd shrimp died sometime between 7/27/03 and 4/9/05, returning his body to the food chain. Let's hear it for benign neglect!”

- Sam

top

“Thanks for such a cool product!

- Paul G.

“I received a small ecosphere #12407 as a gift in January 2007. What a wonderful sphere. I am a biologists/biochemist.” -Stacia S.

“I have had my eco sphere about 8 years and the shrimps still swim around. “

- David

“I received my large pod from Sea World San Diego (issue date 12/96) and look forward to searching for my 2 remaining shrimp swimming in the enclosure or hiding (resting) in the algae whenever I take notice of the pod. I have come to refer to the shrimp as our pets out of jest and do not look forward to the day that I cannot locate them in the pod. I just thought you would be interested in knowing that my system is alive with shrimp 10 years later.

- John W.

“I purchased my EcoSphere in 1997, Serial #56298. As of today it is still going strong ! This has been a great joy over the years for me. Thanks”

- Mike H.

top